Pulling teeth with tweezers (trying to get the elusive review)

If you have read any of my previous posts you know that I’ve just released my first book. I’m sure every writer out there has endured some hair pulling moments along the way. I think that I’m going bald. Writing is such a joy. I remember somewhere back in my little gray cells this to be true. I have crossed my t’s and dotted my i’s, joined the social media brigade and yet something is missing. I know that I’m spending a least half of my day ferreting out information and by the end of that day my head is throbbing.

The elusive review, at least that’s what I call it, is driving me mad, not angry, just crazy. It appears as necessary as it is to have this golden prize, it is one of the most frustrating aspects of “the process.” Somehow it brings to mind the story of the three bears. One’s too hard,  one’s too soft and where oh where is the one that is just right? Are all the reviewers in the land really that busy? Could be….

As I wait for my responses, which I pray there will at least be a few, I keep ferreting. I want to share some of my findings with my fellow authors in hopes that it will be useful.

One site that I really like is www.onlinecollege.org.  The site claims to have 100 of the best blogs for book reviews. There are categories and little blurbs and you narrow the blogs down to your genre. It takes some time, but it is all laid out for you.  It reminds me of one stop shopping. You can also Google Book Blog Reviews, but you will have some sorting to do. If anyone signs up for www.tomoson.com , you will be in for a long wait. I finally emailed them only to find out that they aren’t accepting anything digital at all…virus. Duh!  If you want to go that route be prepared to send paper copy directly to the blogger. I suggest waiting  while they fix their programs. At that point I would email and ask if they are accepting digital. You’ll save a good deal of time. Another newbie is www.bloggerdise.com. This site connects bloggers and promoters, you join for free and create your own banner and giveaway. Jesse is quick to respond to all your questions and problems. I need to spend more time there to finite connections. The beauty of it is you can create more than one banner and you also have your own page. I need to give it more time to see how it works out.

I have a link to Indies Unlimited. If you don’t know this blog, please go there. It is beautifully done, very informative and you can sign up for a daily email that is compact and filled with great author stuff , trailers etc.

I will be posting more on this subject as I uncover the secrets of the elusive review. I for one want to get back to writing. I keep a nice filing system now and spend less time digging through all the papers on my desk. Sound familiar?

Leave a Reply

