Authors Promote Yourselves

And Now for Something Completely Different

Like many Indie authors I find I spend more hours than I have social networking. On a daily basis I try to brainstorm and figure the best way to have my work reach new readers. It is difficult, although I’m sure for many writers this task is easy, but not for me. The fact that I am so technically challenged has a lot to do with my lack of motivation. I am a high energy person and don’t give up easily. When I face a technical glitch my circuits overload and my nerves become frayed.

I receive Publishers Weekly and I suggest that if you are a writer and don’t subscribe, please do so. You can glean out information that will propel you forward. The other day upon receiving my issue I found two wonderful articles. You will find the links below. I was so inspired and excited I wanted to share. Writers are forming their own small book tours visiting libraries and schools, holding panel discussions and promoting their work. These two articles are related to YA authors, but any genre of writers can form their own small group and use what these ingenious artists did.

My first step will be to make a flyer and post it at my favorite library and at the same time book one of the available meeting rooms. I will call out to my fellow writers and hope that we may join together and tour our city and schools, maybe even set up readings. Of course we will have our books with us, maybe bookmarks with our websites and email addresses and forms to be given should anyone like a presentation at a specific event.

I don’t know about you, but how better to interface with new readers  and support your fellow writers. Besides, I think it could be fun! So if you are wondering what the next step could be to building your platform think about this idea, you have nothing to lose.

http://www.publishersweekly.com/pw/by-topic/childrens/childrens-industry-news/article/56367-previewing-the-nyc-teen-author-festival.html?utm

http://www.publishersweekly.com/pw/by-topic/childrens/childrens-industry-news/article/56361-seattle-ya-authors-organize-grassroots-tour.htm

2 thoughts on “Authors Promote Yourselves

  1. What a great way to network with other authors you are an inspiration Aron.

  2. aronjoice says:

    One battle at a time. I am thinking snowball effect.

Leave a Reply

