Author Interview with Christina Rowell

Today I’d like to introduce you to Christina Rowell YA fantasy author….

What made you decide to write YA fantasy?

My mother kept me and my brother amused on long journeys telling fantastical tales to us. There were no books involved, only the clouds that filled sky. Each cloud was a different character in her stories, some were fierce characters, and others were warm and friendly. Because my mind was stimulated from an early age with mental imagery, I love putting the descriptions of what I see down on paper. 

What do you consider the most difficult aspect of writing for a YA audience?

Trying to offer the reader something different from what’s already out there, I think is the most difficult thing about writing for a YA audience.

Does your work reflect the more mature side of YA readers?

My main character is 17 years old, but I believe that the novel itself will appeal to a wide range of YA readers, male, female, young and old.   The story reflects life in general.

How did you decide on your title “Salvation, No Kissing Required?”

The story itself is about rescuing the world from dark forces and the protagonist in return for enlisting in God’s army has the chance of being rewarded with his salvation. He faces various challenges, one of them being falling in love.

Could you give us a peek into your fantasy world and one of your favorite characters?

Satan is roaming Earth; he’s rallying his faithful and enlisting young recruits to spread misery and destruction.

 My favorite character is the protagonist, Dan Pierce. He’s compassionate, fun loving, and I’m in love with him.

Is there anything that you would like your readers to know about you that they may not already?

 I love researching the locations where my stories take place. Because I do want to add realism for the reader and personally I find different places and cultures fascinating. This is my debut novel and at present I’m working on the sequel to Salvation, No Kissing Required. The location is entirely different in the sequel, so a lot of research had to go into it before I could start writing.

At the end of the day what do you want your readers to take home with them?

I want the reader to share my fantasy world and enjoy their time with me.

Salvation_No_Kissing_Required_Book_Layout_1_22_2013 (1)

http://devilslayingamongstotherthings.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

