Prejudice

Are you? Is anyone in the world without some form of prejudice, if so I’d love to meet them.

I find it disturbing that we have come so far technologically, but somehow we still behave in a Barbarian manner. Hatred, racism, pure ignorance, and lack for our fellow human beings seems to be the norm. Compassion left the building only to be replaced by more greed; it makes the world go round and round.

I believe there are still good and honest people with the determination to counter the above. Will earth still be intact by the time everyone has it figured out?  Will we fall the way of the Dinosaur?

What is accomplished from hating someone for their differences, nothing…the worst part of this is the cycle. It has to be broken, but no one will give. The human race is so arrogant in its own belief that we are as good as it gets. That is pitiful. As I look around me I see my fellow-man with self put blinders that obscure any unpleasantness, or the extreme, those who glutton in the carnage.

Why I chose to write this post is even a mystery to me. I just feel sad for the world and what we have done and become. Please, this is not addressed to the entire population just those who don’t give a damn. I doubt they will be reading this anyway. The healing must come from each and every one of us.

Oh, one more thing…I wonder if any Congressman or woman has ever tried to feed their family on a couple of hundred dollars a month. Americans want to work for a fair wage, not a handout.

4 thoughts on “Prejudice

  1. Aron, thank you for taking the time to write this piece. The good old days are behind us. Today will be the good old days for the future, unfortunately we are trending in the wrong direction. I call the current situation the “Me World.” One example; it is unfortunate the new cars no longer come with turn signals. Someone did a nice thing for my grand kids while I was with them. I told them they had to do two nice things for somebody else. I witnessed them trying to do that. There are small examples of people trying to do nice things, but they are drowned out by unfortunate behavior. Just some thoughts.

    • aronjoice says:

      Thank you Dick; I certainly agree about the “me, me” society. The little things become the mountain. How do we break through this cycle? It is the escalation of violence and the encouragement of it that frightens me. Absence of heart ,or maybe we are coming full circle. I trust the animals in the woods more than the two legged kind, now there is honesty. Stay well my friend!

  2. dvberkom says:

    Call me an optimist, but I still see/meet good and helpful people every day. I understand why you feel this way, though. Personally, when I start to feel like what you’re describing (and yeah, it happens enough to be really annoying), I turn off the Interwebz and the television and the incessant influx of information and concentrate on nature, and my husband, and my family and friends, and art. There’s always art. An entire species can’t be all bad when there is such breathtaking beauty to be experienced, right?

    Keep the faith, Aron. It’s going to be all right.

    • aronjoice says:

      Thank you DV, I am usually a glass half full person. I don’t watch TV, however, I listen to the news in the am, and catch news off of the net. I don’t believe an entire species is all bad, but I think lately too much hatred is forefront. Good news doesn’t sell, right? I know and have known beautiful people that move me, and I agree about art. Perhaps I was having a moment praying that the good guys win. I will never understand lack of compassion as long as I take a breath. Your words of encouragement are an inspiration. May happiness be your shadow.

Leave a Reply

