The Power of Words

ARON JOICE

When I was a girl my mother always told me to be careful what I said. “Think before the words leave your mouth, you can never take them back.” Recently I recalled that quote. I was cut to the quick by extremely hateful words. There was no foundation for them other than one person’s anger. I still feel the pain, and they will remain etched in my memory.

We write words, say words, and sing words. They can uplift, crush, soothe, encourage; they are powerful. As a writer, words are my tools to communicate with my readers. In everyday life I need to choose them carefully. I  am responsible not to verbally vomit anything that comes to mind. It isn’t always an easy task to find the right words, some will blossom, while others fall to the ground. They can become weapons. Words are one of the most understated gifts. Think of…

View original post 33 more words

Leave a Reply

