Cents and Sensibility

Time for an Aha moment.

I am probably going over old ground. This post isn’t for my writer friends, but I think they will approve. It is difficult to hear readers complaining about the price of books, especially when they are from indie authors. I thought I might take a minute, or two to set the record straight what all writers go through.

Let me step back a minute. I assume everyone works, or does something to generate an income to pay the bills. You know food on the table, rent, mortgage, electricity, car payments, insurance, and all those little necessities. You get compensated for putting your time in somewhere doing a job. Now writers not only have to cover the same bases, but they spend endless hours(no overtime pay here) gathering their thoughts and putting them to paper, or computer.  After, say months, or possibly a year that work is finished. Now it is ready for editing. For all you folks not in this field, let me assure you it is one of our biggest expenses. The book cover design, graphics, and typography is another big expense. Sure, you can do it on the cheap, but then that is exactly what it looks like, an unprofessional job.

Some authors advertise, have posters and banners made to shout out a new release. Oh, don’t forget all those little freebies you get from a book tour. So it is pretty simple, we have the same bills to pay on the home front as anyone else, we aren’t compensated for endless hours of writing to hopefully bring a reader enjoyment. We pull rabbits out of hats to pay our editors, and graphic designers, and that snazzy little bookmark, or iPhone cover, is not free, at least not for us.

What I am asking you, the reader, is when you see a e-book for $2.99-7.99, don’t moan and groan.  We will never recoup our investment to bring you to new worlds and adventures, unless we get very lucky. The Rowlings, Hockings, yada yada are few and far between, and kudos to them. The rest of us will keep at it not only for our pleasure, but yours.

The last thing that I humbly request is when you download a book for free, actually take the time to read it. Maybe rate it for the author, and if you feel very generous, a review. We do this for you, and with a little attention back, maybe our dreams can come true.

4 thoughts on “Cents and Sensibility

  1. Good post Aron, and I agree. I do admit though, that in spite of my best intentions I do have free books on my Kindle I have not read yet. And you know what they say about good intentions. Sigh.

    • aronjoice says:

      Thank you Yvonne. I think we all have some free books, but I have become aware of two conditions. The “FREE” hoarders and the so called reviewers who will only review a print copy. The review never comes and the book is resold second market. Sweet way to make money off writers… I don’t give out print anymore, unless it is a gift to a friend.Again about “FREE”, we can assume all won’t be read, however if someone does download and reads a freebie, a review would be a nice way to say thank you.

Leave a Reply

